The Open

The Carnoustie Golf Links are in Carnoustie, Angus, Scotland. Its historic championship golf course is one of the venues in the Open Championship rotation.

Golf is recorded as having been played at Carnoustie in the early 16th century. In 1890, the 14th Earl of Dalhousie, who owned the land, sold the links to the local authority. It had no funds to acquire the property, and public fundraising was undertaken and donated to the council. The original course was of ten holes, crossing and recrossing the Barry Burn; it was designed by Allan Robertson, assisted by Old Tom Morris, and opened in 1842.[1] The opening of the coastal railway from Dundee to Arbroath in 1838 brought an influx of golfers from as far afield as Edinburgh, anxious to tackle the ancient links. This led to a complete restructuring of the course, extended in 1867 by Old Tom Morris to the 18 holes which had meanwhile become standardized. Young Tom Morris won a major open event there that same year. Two additional courses have since been added: the Burnside Course and the shorter though equally testing Buddon Links.

Carnoustie first played host to The Open Championship in 1931, after modifications to the course by James Braid in 1926. The winner then was Tommy Armour, from Edinburgh.

This is a list of The Open Championship champions at Carnoustie Golf Links:

Year Winner Score Winner’s
share (£)
R1 R2 R3 R4 Total
1931 United States Tommy Armour 73 75 77 71 296 (+8) 100
1937 England Henry Cotton 2nd 74 72 73 71 290 (+6) 100
1953 United States Ben Hogan 73 71 70 68 282 (−6) 500
1968 South Africa Gary Player 2nd 74 71 71 73 289 (+1) 3,000
1975 United States Tom Watson 1st 71 67 69 72 279 (−9) PO 7,500
1999 Scotland Paul Lawrie 73 74 76 67 290 (+6) PO 350,000
2007 Republic of Ireland Pádraig Harrington 1st 69 73 68 67 277 (−7) PO 750,000
2018 19–22 July


























hVPs3Ioi british-open-logo-600x292





royal-troon-2016-venue P1020

Hopeman Golf Course








OC Sunrise 7th from 12th header


Photo-399 PrestwickGolfClubAerialviewlookingd


Royal Troon - Postage Stamp


Royal Troon1sm












Comments are closed.